Hospital Humor- It Can Get Worse

It Will Be Worse

Now that the “Affordable Health Care Act” has gone into effect most of the people that I have talked to who tried to get it are having trouble getting on line.  Those that have got online have found that they can’t afford the “Affordable Health Care” that is available to them.

Over the years I have spent a large portion of my income on insurance and hospital bills.  I really hope that the government never gets to the point where they decide who is worthy of getting treatment.  I am afraid the cost of my upkeep would cause them to just write me off.  I only have about another year and a half left on the battery on my pacemaker-defibrillator  and the cost of replacement is about $60,000.  I am afraid a committee of bureaucrats would decide to just let my batteries run out…after all if they don’t think the government is worth keeping open why would they want to keep me running.

Y’all have a great weekend and I will post again Monday,

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Hospital Humor- It Can Get Worse”

  1. Jande Says:

    $60,000!! :`(
    to replace a battery.

    I’m stupified.

    I think you’d better set up a crowd-sourced fund for that right away. :`)

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Actually they don’t just replace the battery. When the batteries go dead they have to replace the whole thing.
      Thankfully Medicare covers most of the cost.

  2. Maddie Cochere Says:

    It’s all a big worry, Bo. When my husband accidentally shot himself, and a couple years later had a heart attack, we were on payment plans for both – and we got the bills paid (no health insurance). We looked into the Affordable Care Act right away, and I was shocked at how high our payment will be. I’m worried about all of this. And yes, as we are getting older, I worry about denial of coverage in the future.

    On a happier note, unless you drop a note to me with an objection (and please feel free to do so), I’m going to model a geezer-type character who sits on a porch in a rockin’ chair up there in Canada at the fishing/hunting lodge after you! 🙂 Not 100%, but I’ll be thinking of you as my inspiration. Ha! You’ll be my muse! I’ll be working on that book this month – starting this weekend!

  3. Binky Says:

    If they ever refuse to replace your batteries, I’ll do it for you!

  4. Bo Lumpkin Says:

    Maybe Wom-batteries would last longer.

  5. jbstoons Says:

    Yea you get to see the price for using the bathroom, watching the t.v.
    and drinking the water.

  6. Tony McGurk Says:

    The bill will probably put him back into hospital from shock.
    You should’ve opted for a rechargeable battery Bo then you could just plug yourself into your phone charger for an hour or so each week.
    I had a good life that people can’t afford the affordable health care. It is sad though that governments have all the money they like to waste on less important stuff but when it comes to peoples health they just don’t seem to care.

Leave a comment