Geezers Gone Bad- Continuing Education

Useful Skills

Sometimes I think our prison system is geared to fail.  For one thing they are now called correctional institutions.  I liked it better when they were Penal Institutions.  I am not a hard case…well maybe I am but I still think prison should be for punishment for crimes committed.  Punishment is the most successful form of correction.  One of my all time favorite movies was “Cool Hand Luke” starring Paul Newman.  If you have never seen the movie you might not understand some of this blog.  At the time I was a young boy and like everyone else I was rooting for the convicts.  Now as I look back I think the man with the reflecting sunglasses had it right.

Our judicial system is out of whack.  Our policemen are overworked and underpaid and they are blamed for crime rates when our judicial system just keeps sending hardened criminals back out on the streets with new skills that they learned in prison.

I do my best to obey all laws.  I buckle my seatbelt.  I drive the speed limit…or a little less sometimes, and I don’t tailgate.  I obey the laws because I not only respect the law,  I respect my fellow citizen.  My rights end where the next person’s begin.  My responsibility also ends where the next person’s should begin.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Geezers Gone Bad- Continuing Education”

  1. Jande Says:

    Meh. Don’t they have internet in prison now? They could loearn anything on the internet. ;`}

  2. briard Says:

    Hello! I’ve been following your weblog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

  3. Binky Says:

    Some prisons are a lot better than some neighborhoods. Probably safer, too.

  4. bearmancartoons Says:

    When a prisoner is treated better than the poor, there is something wrong

  5. Tony McGurk Says:

    I’ve never heard of a prisoner being evicted ‘cos he couldn’t afford to pay rent…

  6. Ron Scarbro Says:

    i AM A HARD CASE. i APPROVE OF HARD TIME. I ALSO BELIEVE WE LET THESE PEOPLE OUT TOO SOON.

Leave a Reply

