Free Range – Burt and Kurt

K & B Free Range

Personally I would love to have some chickens in my yard but I haven’t had a lot of luck with them.  I see people with chickens running loose on their property and I find it hard to believe that they survive.  Maybe my problem was trying to raise the smaller chickens, bantams, or as most folks around here call them Banties.  I took good care of my chickens.  I let them out in the daytime and I put them up at night in what I thought was a safe chicken coop.  The raccoons and possums proved me wrong on that.

When I was down to about  8 chickens hurricane Katrina hit and all I had left was one rooster named Rambo and three hens.  Katrina had more or less wrecked their roost and  they refused to go into the chicken shack that I prepared for them.  They began to roost in the trees, much to the delight of the owls and hawks.  Rambo was a survivor but after the hens were gone he was pretty lonesome.  He would attack the stray cat that hung around Gatorhead.  We named the cat Big Boy.  Big Boy was lonesome too but he didn’t crave the attention of a crazy rooster.  My little weiner dog was afraid to go outside because Rambo would peck him in the behind every time he did.  The last straw was when we had company Rambo saw his reflection in their car and attacked a Toyota Camry.  I guess Rambo won because he didn’t have any damage and the Toyota did.

I gave Rambo to a friend who raised chickens who kept him several months.  He told me that a dog got into the chicken pen and killed a bunch of his chickens and Rambo was one of them.  I am almost certain Rambo put up a good fight.  The friend assured me that there were a lot of young chickens around who looked like Rambo.  I hope they have his survival skills.

Bo

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Free Range – Burt and Kurt”

  1. jbstoons Says:

    Long live Rambo.

  2. Binky Says:

    It’s kind of you to keep the wildlife well fed.

  3. bearmancartoons Says:

    Sounds like your rooster was just a c##k

Leave a Reply

