Geezerhood- Homer and Estelle A Hairy Conversation

Hair Today Gone

When I was a kid we went every week and got a haircut.  I was nearly bald until I graduated from high school.  After graduation from high school I joined the National Guard and had to get a haircut at least once a month before drills then.    Now I am an old Geezer and I still get a haircut once a month because someone who is nearly bald looks really bad when they don’t trim the rest of their hair.  Mine grows okay on the back and sides but none on top.

I don’t need to wonder when to get mine cut.  My wife does not mind telling me, “You need a haircut.”

My first haircuts were done by a neighbor across the road who had a pair of manual clippers (and I doubt very seriously if he had a Barber License) and cost a quarter.  They were slow and painful because the clippers pinched out about as much hair as they cut.  I remember the gradual rise in prices.  When we started getting a haircut in town the barber charged kids 75 cents and adults $1.25.

Now I pay $14 dollars to get my haircut and in comparison to prices and wages everywhere else I consider that reasonable…even with the tip.   Yes I tip the barber…he has control of my appearance for a little while.

Lots of other things have changed over the years.  I don’t get bubble gum anymore when I get a haircut but that is okay because I couldn’t chew it with my dentures anyway.  You don’t see a shoe shine stand in the Barber Shop anymore because people don’t need their Nike’s shined.  One of the biggest changes is that there are women in there.  My wife and I both get our hair cut at the same shop. There is a woman there who cut hair for both of us last week.  When I was a kid if a woman walked in , even to bring her kids for a haircut, the entire place went silent until she left.

Times change and I guess we do too.

Bo

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Geezerhood- Homer and Estelle A Hairy Conversation”

  1. bearmancartoons Says:

    My wife gets on my cuz I go to those mass chain haircut places and never the same person so sometimes my hair looks good and sometimes not. I figure even if I hate it, it will grow back in 4 weeks.

  2. George Says:

    My wife gives me slight grief because I go to the same barber each time, mostly out of guilt. He doesn’t do an extremely great job, but he’s free every time I walk in, which makes me happy. 😀

    Nice guest spot, Jande!

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I know what you mean. You know when they are just standing there with no customers that their bills are piling up and no money coming in. You are a softie George. Keep it up.

  3. Binky Says:

    I was in a hair stylist place (not for a haircut) recently, and the woman leaving paid $150. I’d want to live there for that.

  4. jbstoons Says:

    He should look into hair gel. That way he can spike it up.

Leave a Reply

