Geezerhood- Makin’ Decisions

My Decisions

I think I am beginning to identify with this old girl.  I had a perfect blueprint in my mind about posting the comics in my buffer in a certain order… I sure wish I could remember what it was.

Actually I am not sure if all that is important.  It seems like even though I pick up some new subscribers by email to my comic  that the actual hits on my website vary anywhere from 20 to 40 visits per day.  I read where many others have hundreds of hits per day and I wonder what I am doing wrong.  Just to set the record straight, I am not having a pity party.  I tried social media but that didn’t work very well.  I have given out free advertising and free comics to be downloaded from Redmund Pro free bookstore at http://redmundpro.com/book-store/free-books/ and nothing I do seems to increase my traffic.

I have come to a point to where I don’t worry too much about traffic.  I still have a few faithful commenters to interact with and I do enjoy that.

If you have any tips on why I can’t build traffic I would appreciate them.  I intend to keep up the comics regardless of the traffic because when I tell people at my Copperhead Jewelry shows that I am a cartoonist I don’t want to be lying.

Thanks to all my loyal supporters and I hope you all have a great day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Geezerhood- Makin’ Decisions”

  1. Carl D'Agostino Says:

    Posted Jeremy, jbstoons today as guest. You may care to visit as he acknowledges your tech support and I mentioned Gatorhead. Once again I offer you a Wednesday guest post too. That would be a way for some increased traffic coming your way. My followers appreciate presenting talent on these posts. It helps me too as that’s 52 days a year I don’t have to come up with a post. I get nothing nor do I expect anything for showcasing the work of others. I was a teacher for 33 years and promoting others is what I have always done.

  2. bearmancartoons Says:

    I am only getting a couple hundred a day so can’t really help. But I do notice that when I post the full size image on social media and not just a link I get better reaction.

    For G+ I just look at that as another way to interact versus trying to drive everyone to my site.

  3. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    You did a great job on the art on that one, Bo. The only thing I can think of that might help a little is to tailor your tags to each comic. The one above could have a “poor memory’ at the beginning of your list of tags. Anyone searching for that would get your URL in their list.

    The most ‘hits’ I’ve had is about 200-ish tops, closer to a hundred while updating the storyline, and is usually around 50 while I’m taking a break to write the next section of the story. But if Bearman is only getting 200 hits a day, there’s no hope for the rest of us. ;`D

    But like you, I’m happy with the quality of comments I get. I love my commenters and try to support them whenever I can.

    Lets face it. Only the edgy content gets the really big hits. People don’t have much time to spare in the increasingly busy-busy race through life.

    As for social media, I prefer to keep that as social as possible. I joined G+ the other day, but I’m not a gregarious person, so I expect circles to grow slowly. Imagine my surprise to find I already had 5 invites when I got there. lol

    I’m going to try streaming the art creation as soon as I get a decent sound card for my art box (which I’m saving up for).

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I had a high day of 200 or so too but that was when I had my heart attack and that is a little bit too extreme for me to try again. 🙂
      Thanks for all your encouragement.

  4. Binky Says:

    I get a lot of comments, but not that much traffic, at least according to google. About 100 a day or so. If I believe my website stats, it is a great many times that. I don’t know why there’s such a discrepancy.

    I’ve never done much with social media. The only way I’ve really gotten traffic is to comment on other peoples’ sites.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I have gained most of my readers from making comments too. I just don’t have the time to comment as much as I used to. I was really just kind of wondering if I was way behind everyone else on site visits. I guess it is not all that great for anyone because you guys are some of the best and should be getting 1000’s a day.

  5. spilledinkguy Says:

    It’s a good thing that (with my memory) I can’t remember my stats, Bo.
    That seems to help.
    🙂

  6. jbstoons Says:

    I can relate to her also. Good one Bo

Leave a Reply

