Unsung Heroes- Hank The Handy Man

Unsung Heroes

Personally I think we owe a great debt of thanks to all who are serving or have served our country in the Military.  Everyone doesn’t get a medal but even those who don’t play a big role in defending our freedom.

While I was wandering aimlessly through the archives I stopped to visit with Hank and Buster long enough to upgrade some of the older comics and turn them into a mini-comic book.  Spending time with Hank and Buster motivated me to do some new comics featuring these two.  I am sure they will be appearing here a few more times in the near future.  In the more distant future I hope to have Shirley back and maybe some more interaction between Mildred and her family.

This has been a really busy summer but most of it has been by choice.  Between making jewelry and comic strips in my spare time  I have to be careful not to let it all get in the way of real life.

We have finally had some days that are fairly cool and I hope to be able to do some outside jobs later.  I hope you all have a good week and remember I am posting here Monday through Friday and on Tuesdays and Thursdays on the other site at http://bolumpkin.wordpress.com  Thanks for your comments and your support.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Unsung Heroes- Hank The Handy Man”

  1. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    I’ve been working outside myself in the afternoons for over a week now, Bo (along with writing Aedre’s next chapter in the mornings). Been painting this huge wraparound deck we inherited with the house. I do love working outside! I love it so much I’m braving the ragweed pollen and so far it’s been awesome –the painting, not the pollen. (though I ache all over, it’s a happy ache) :`D

    So glad to hear you’re able to be highly productive. I’ll try to keep up, though I may not have time to comment on every one, just know I’m in your comic reading your stuff. ❤

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I know the feeling. When I use my tablet to check comics I have trouble leaving comments (It is not my tablet’s fault. I have big clumsy fingers and my eyes are bad.) but I do check them regular.

  2. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    oh, forgot to ask: What does “Semper Fry” allude to. So I know when to laugh at the joke. lol

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Semper Fidelis is Latin for “Always Faithful” or “Always Loyal.” It is the motto of the U.S. Marines and is usually just shortened to “Semper Fi”.

  3. bearmancartoons Says:

    Does the outside job mean you draw outside? haha

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Nope. That is where I saw, and hammer, and weld and clean wire and stuff. All my drawin’ is an inside job. Sometimes I do draw outside the lines though.

  4. Binky Says:

    Do marines eat nothing but seafood?

  5. Carl D'Agostino Says:

    The cartoon reminded me of an anecdote relevant. As a teen and into college I usually worked 8 weeks in the summer with City of North Miami in sanitation or parks(parks was better as you got to drink, play poker and hide from the supervisors). The men were all WW2 vets and would ridicule Woody who was a ship’s cook. Woody got tired of it one day and yelled ” There were 10 major naval battles in the Pacific and I was in 8 of them plus other events. I dished out the chow, the guys loved me and for them I was more important than the captain or all the admirals. Besides, everyone had battle stations and how would you have liked being out in the ocean in the middle of nowhere?” Good for you Woody, I thought. He really shut ’em up that day.

  6. Tony McGurk Says:

    Ha Ha!!! I had heard of Semper Fi before but had to Google the meaning as I wasn’t sure what it was about. Good for Hank as they always say an army marches on it’s stomach.
    Although after 12 years of eating Navy cooking I’m not so sure if that’s a good thing or not…
    But seriously the cooks on the ships I was on usually did a good job with what resources they had. My son was a Navy Chef for 5 years which has set him up for a good career now he’s back in civilian life.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Actually I never minded military food even before I became a cook. I was a cook in the National Guard and I was actually asked to switch to the cook section because they liked my cooking.
      I made more rank there than I would have in the motor pool (where I was trained). I guess I just switched the type of grease I was using.

  7. jbstoons Says:

    To all who serve or have served I say a big THANK YOU!!!! Great toon Bo.

  8. Deb Says:

    I agree, Bo, we all owe a big thank you to all who server our country regardless of their position….A great big THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

