Geezers Gone Bad

Geezers Gone Bad

The MDOC on the orange jump suit stands for Mississippi Department of Corrections.

Sometimes because a kid comes from a family with a bad reputation everyone just assumes that he is no good too.  I think one of the saddest things anyone ever said to me was by a student when I was a substitute teacher.  He said, “You are the only teacher I have ever had who treated me like I was really somebody.”   Someone in the teachers lounge was talking bad about this boy and I unloaded on everyone in there.”  I am not sure how much good it did but I felt that they needed to hear what I had to say.

I have a soft spot in my heart for young people and I really believe that how they are treated when they are young has a lot to do with how they end up when they are older.

Now if you will excuse me I have to put away my soap box.

Don’t forget to check the http://bolumpkin.wordpress.com page today.

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Geezers Gone Bad”

  1. Steve Says:

    Few understand how much encouraging words from teachers can help such youngsters.

  2. Carl D'Agostino Says:

    I taught high school history 33 years inner city, drugs, violence, low economic, minority and I treated my kids like young adults(unless they were clearly untrustworthy jerks). I let them go to bathroom , said please and thank you and even apologized if I was wrong and I was the only male teacher they did not have to prefix my name with mister. I also always retain a bit of the 17 year old in me. Many were 2-5 years below grad level, esp reading, but I always found something they could do , esp art, and gave them a C instead of an F like the rest of the teachers.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Our educational system could use a lot more of that attitude. I really wish there were more men to be positive role models. It would change a lot of lives. Thanks for making a differnce, Carl.o

  3. bearmancartoons Says:

    I try to live down to my expectations

  4. Binky Says:

    Very true, Bo. Too many young people end up on the wrong side of the law and society because no one has ever really cared for them.

  5. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    “I have a soft spot in my heart for young people and I really believe that how they are treated when they are young has a lot to do with how they end up when they are older.”

    Truer words have never been spoken, Bo. I’m with you on this one. And the worst of that kind of thing is when the young person’s family makes them the scapegoat, makes up bad stories about them and turns society against them for their own entertainment.

    It’s like putting them in an iron cage of lies at birth, and only the help of another caring human being can help them out of it. Even then, the taste and smell of iron lingers.

    Good things can happen to unlucky people when good people give something of themselves to another.

  6. George Says:

    I never knew you were a substitute teacher, Bo. How long did you do that?

    (and don’t say, eight hours!) 😀

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I did that for about 4 years when I was in Arkansas. I really enjoyed spending time with the kids. I knew my place though. I didn’t try to teach them much. I felt that my job was just making sure they didn’t hurt each other or do any property damage. I usually had about twice as many kids in my class as the roster called for though because they would all get a note from me to get out of study hall to come to my class. I was the fun guy…unless they got out of line and then I had to get tough.

  7. Tony McGurk Says:

    And if they misbehaved did they get the Bo-Knocker??? Great comic,Bo, he looks like a happy character.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      That was before I invented the Bo-Knocker but it might have been handy to have back then. Once the vice-principal called me to the office because my son was in trouble. He gave me the choice to paddle him or watch. I watched.

Leave a Reply

