Improved Memory

Improved Memory

I have found as I run in to old friends from several decades ago that as we talk over the things that happened thy really get better each time.  They don’t seem to remember all the details that I remember and I certainly don’t remember all the details that they share with me.  Even with my kids it amazes me at how different our accounts of events are from when they were young.

Creative memory is not really such a bad thing though.  It really spices up the conversation.

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Improved Memory”

  1. bearmancartoons Says:

    My sister suffers from that problem. We keep her in check

  2. Binky Says:

    Memories diverge as we get older and further from the truth.

  3. Scott Says:

    That is absolutely hilarious–honest to God, my parents are both like that! They are capable of selective memory, even of changing memories to their liking. I, on the other hand, am completely incapable of this. I remember everything–my long-term memory is even better than my short-term memory. Perhaps I would be happier if I could forget more easily!

  4. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    My MD was talking about this recently. He says it happens to everyone, even the very young, except that when you get older you think it happens more often and you start to worry about dementia.

    I’ve always said that we should beware those who are apparently 100% certain about things. A modicum of healthy doubt keeps us human and humane.

  5. spilledinkguy Says:

    Hahaha… I can relate… I’ll walk into another room… and then I can’t remember the story as to why I’d gone in there in the first place!
    🙂

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      You were supposed to be going for me a snack. What are you doing in the laundry room? That reminds me of the time….(make up a good story here).

  6. Maddie Cochere Says:

    I never really think about it, but my mom is definitely a geezer. You call it creative memory; I’ve always called it embellishment. She sure can add a lot to a memory. 😉

Leave a Reply

