Things Change

Switch

I used to be a lean mean fightin’ machine and now I’m just a round mound chow hound.  I am not sure if it is a blessing or a curse that our minds don’t always accept that our bodies are broken down.  Even now, and I know that I have extreme physical limitations,  I find that my mind will write checks that my body just can’t cash.

My closet has something in there that keeps shrinkin’ my clothes.  Someone changed my porch so that it is much higher and harder to climb the steps than it used to be.  My wife is obviously smuggling marble slabs in her luggage but so far she has not been able to deliver any of them because everytime I pick up the bags they still weigh the same.  Time has changed too.  It gets late a lot earlier than it used to.  On Father’s day I am now in the running for being the oldest Father in the services.

I’m not sure what happened to the young vibrant man I used to be but I know he is still around.  He gets excited when he sees a go-cart or a dirt bike.  He listens with enthusiasm as someone talks about white water rafting and hopes he will be able to go someday.  He sees all the things that need to be done around Gatorhead and promises that someday he will do them. Sadly though he is a blowhard.  He talks a good game but he doesn’t show up when the heavy lifting starts.

Maybe if he had drawn comics and made jewelry back when he was somewhere besides deep in my imagination he would have been able to stay around a lot longer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

20 Responses to “Things Change”

  1. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    You could have taken the words out of my own mouth, Bo! This is what the young whippersnappers have in store for them: a mind that stays forever young in a body that no longer responds, then breaks down entirely.

    Some people start out with a much higher constitution roll so this doesn’t happen to them until much later. But those of us who lived through adversity after adversity are aware of the effects of the ravages of time on our bodies much earlier.

    If they are fortunate, their spirit, like yours, Bo, will never grow old even after the heart, brain, and bowels are long turned to dust.

    PS: Always love Mildred and her pithy sayings. ❤

  2. Bo Lumpkin Says:

    Yep. I am a little concerned. I went to see my cardiologist today and they didn’t remember me having a heart attack in November. Nice to know they are on top of things.
    I am planning on doing more Mildred solo’s in the future but I am not going to leave Edna out completely.

  3. ltpen315,barb Says:

    Boy, I think you are living my life!! I absolutely cannot believe I am 58 because sometimes I still think I can do everything I used to do.

  4. Tony McGurk Says:

    So true Bo. I’m only 52 but all those aches & pains are already on their way. I’ve got arthritis in my toes & now it’s starting in my fingers. In my mind though I still feel like I’m in my 20’s

  5. jbstoons Says:

    Lmho on this one.

  6. spilledinkguy Says:

    I’m not sure I can relate to this one, Bo
    (but whoever that old guy in my mirror is probably can)!
    🙂

  7. Maddie Cochere Says:

    Oh, I am with you on this one, Bo. In my mind’s eye, I am still in my 20’s and can do anything and everything, but I certainly can’t. I walk by the mirror and think, “What the h—?” Not only is my body falling apart, but it’s shaped differently than it used to be. When did that happen?

  8. bearmancartoons Says:

    This ranks up with my top 10 Mildreds….great one.

  9. George Says:

    I think I’m also a round mound chow hound too, Bo. Everything has seemed to have done the ol’ switcheroo.

  10. Deb Says:

    I can relate, Bo, and I know you are experiencing all this more than me, and the older I get, the more I understand how what your going through.

Leave a Reply

