Plain Speakin’

Plain Speakin

Whether I’m listenin’ to someone speak or readin’ somethin’ I really appreciate it when folks put things in the simplest terms possible.  I realize that people have gone to a lot of trouble learnin’ big words and technical terms and want to impress us all with their huge mental capacities but hey…If I don’t understand a word you are sayin’ then there is not much use in me listenin’ or readin’.

I reckon I will try to keep my stuff plain and leave the profound for those with more formal education than me.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “Plain Speakin’”

  1. Deb Says:

    Amen! 🙂

  2. Red Says:

    Guilty. 😉

  3. Bearman Says:

    That’s Dumbfound..haha

  4. Maddie Cochere Says:

    We certainly don’t need to be confounded! Have you ever read something that made very little sense because of all the big words, and then the writer writes, “in other words,” and then gives the simple explanation? What a waste of writing space. That Burt is one smart man – if that’s Burt on the right. 😉

  5. Binky Says:

    Isn’t Profound some kind of hunting dog?

  6. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    I’m not going to shut anyone out because they use words I don’t understand, as long as they understand me when I ask them to please repeat it this time in “lay” terms.

    Sometimes just askin’ can go a long way in creating CO-mmunication.

  7. spilledinkguy Says:

    Hahaha… but I have a long list of words I just looked-up in the dictionary for this very ‘Leave a Reply’…
    🙂

  8. Tony McGurk Says:

    It’s like when Politicians speak, they say a whole lotta stuff that really amounts to nuthin’

Leave a Reply

