Old Age Advisory

Advice From Who

I guess I have reached old age.  My kids have started givin’ me advice and sometimes even tellin’ me what to do, especially since my last heart attack. I guess some geezers probably resent it but when mine start advisin’ me…they are usually just repeatin’ things I told them when they were younger.  “Be careful.”  “You need to be especially careful when you are drivin’.”  “If something comes up that you can’t handle, you call me.”

Both my son and my daughter are always just a phone call away if I need them.  We get fussed at when we forget our cell phone and they can’t get in touch with us for a couple of hours.  They always want to know where we are, just like we did when they were growin’ up.

I guess I could be upset about these young whippersnappers tryin’ to tell me what to do.  I’m not though.  I am proud that my children have grown up to be the fine responsible adults that they are, and they still care about their parents.

Don’t forget to check my other website at http://bolumpkin.wordpress.com

Tags: , , , , , , ,

27 Responses to “Old Age Advisory”

  1. idesoflife Says:

    Hahahah I do that all the time to my parents, omg!

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      There is some point in life where we seem to change places and then our children are in charge. My dad is 86 and I haven’t got to that point with him yet.

      ________________________________

  2. Patrice D. Says:

    You also know you’re getting old when some of your sentences start with “In my day…”
    I catch myself doing that sometimes, even though Im still in “my day”, things can change so quickly.

  3. Jande Says:

    People fussing over me like I was brain-dead makes me antsy and resentful.

    I think growing up in an abusive family has made me fearful of dependency on others. Those are feelings that come from the distant past though, and I try to use my conscious thought to remember that the people who fuss over me now really do it from love and kindness. That way I don’t snap at them like a wounded dog. :`D

    Wonderful post, as usual, Bo! ♥

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I think sometimes I am too independent for my own good.  My son gets a little upset when I climb on top of the house to turn my antenna so I can get better TV reception but it has been real windy lately. 🙂  I can’t call him everytime I need to change channels.

      ________________________________

  4. bearmancartoons Says:

    Will your kids take care of me when I get old?

  5. Bo Lumpkin Says:

    Yeah. Just tell the Bo sent youl

  6. Binky Says:

    It is a funny transition, but it’s good to have kids that aren’t really kids any more. And nice to be cared for.

  7. spilledinkguy Says:

    Its got to feel nice to know you’ve had such a positive influence on your kids, Bo… sounds like they’re some pretty decent folks to me! A case of apples not falling too far from the tree!
    🙂

  8. jbstoons Says:

    See thy should have listen when you told them its coming to you.

  9. George Says:

    I had never considered it from that point-of-view, Bo. I guess if you bring your kids up right, their advice is truly just a reflection of the values you instilled in them. Brilliant, man.

  10. Maddie Cochere Says:

    I’m going through this now, Bo. My mother gets mad at me when I try to hold her arm when walking, or try to help her do things. She wants to be as independent as possible, and I think she feels I’m treating her like she’s “old,” and she doesn’t like that. Well, she is 81 and she’s fallen twice in the last year. I just have to ignore her and butt in anyway when I can. You are a good husband and father to allow your family to fuss, and you understand they only do it out of love.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      My dad is 88 and I don’t even try much with him. Up until now though he has been in better health than I have but he has really gone down this year. He had a mini stroke Monday but is doing fine now. I figure that there is no need of me arguing with my family. I usually just agree with their advice and then do what I want to.

      ________________________________

  11. Tony McGurk Says:

    I read a slogan on a bumper sticker once that said “Be kind to your children because they get to choose your nursing home”

  12. Deb Says:

    You have some great kids, Bo!…Your blessed!

  13. Carl D'Agostino Says:

    I understand. I also used to think those “old people” cartoons were funny. Not anymore.

Leave a Reply

