Can’t Take It With You- Geezerhood

It Is Already Gone

One of my favorite bumper stickers of all time was on an expensive lookin’ motor home.  It said, “We Are Spending Our Children’s Inheritance”. With the National Debt what it is and the fiscal cliff being scarier than a physical cliff I reckon that most of us in the USA are spending our children’s future.  I don’t reckon I’ll be takin’ anything with me and financially I might not be leavin’ much behind either.  My son said it best when he told me, “Dad you never had much money to give me but you gave me something better.  You taught me how to work and how to get along with people.”

I reckon I might be leavin’ a little somethin’ behind after all.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

26 Responses to “Can’t Take It With You- Geezerhood”

  1. Joy Says:

    Love this!!!

  2. Tony McGurk Says:

    I saw a report on a Current Affair show that had all these middle aged adults whining that their parents are spending their inheritance. My 1st thought was “How greedy & self centred they are” (The children not the parents). Parents work hard all their lives & if they wanna spend up to enjoy their retirement then I say go for it. I told my parents “Don’t worry about keeping your money to leave to us kids. It’s your hard earned money, you use it for what you want”
    Your Son summed up my feelings too. No amount of money is worth more than the love & care a parent gives their children.

  3. Red Says:

    I want to +1 Tony’s comment.

  4. Binky Says:

    There’s definitely a lot more important things to leave behind than money.

  5. bensbitterblog Says:

    I worry that all I will leave behind is bitterness.

  6. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    That’s great one, Bo! One of your best wise witticisms. ♥

  7. spilledinkguy Says:

    I hear you, Bo – I can think of a lot of things I’d rather be remembered for, too.
    🙂

  8. jbstoons Says:

    Bo you can take it with you. But the Angles would get mad. Because they have enough pavement.

  9. ltpen315,barb Says:

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure I’ll run out of money long before I run out of life!!

Leave a Reply

