Heart Attack Update!

I have had a lot of company today and haven’t had time to update my post.  Yesterday I had a heart cath and they found new damage to my heart and that only the main artery to my heart has remained opened.  These arteries have all been bypassed before and there is nothing that can be done  for them.

The Doctor who did the dye test and heart cath wasn’t very optomistic at all  and seems to think that it could be a matter of days, weeks and at the most a few months before my heart gives out completely.   My regular cardiologist is a little more optomistic and seems to think if I am very careful I could hang on for a good bit longer.

They are giving me a lot of lasix to help with the fluid (I have congestive heart failure also) but so far I seem to be retaining fluid.  He was hoping to get rid of some of the fluid so that I could spend Thanksgiving at home.  It has not seemed to be working that well today and I won’t really know how that will go until tomorrow.  If I have to spend Thanksgiving in the Hospital it will be okay because my family has already said that they will just spend it here with me.

I don’t know what the outcome will be.  I meant to update earlier but I have had a lot of visitors today and could not take time away from them to get on the internet.

I have been up since 4 a.m. and my last visitors just left so I am going to finish this post and check out a few of your sites before I go to sleep.

Thank you all for your prayers and support.

Bo

45 Responses to “Heart Attack Update!”

  1. Joy Hankins Says:

    Thanks for the update. So glad to hear your dr. Is more optimistic!!!

    Love you? Joy

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. ltpen315,barb Says:

    Bo, we will just pray that your regular doctor is right and that you will be with us for a very long time to come!! Please take care of yourself. In other words, do what your doctor and Mrs. Bo tell you to do.

  3. rickthestick Says:

    Get well Bo! So sorry to hear about your physical heart which apparently isn’t as strong as your real heart. Hang in there buddy!

  4. Maddie Cochere Says:

    Bo, I’m sorry to read this. I think I’ll side with the optimistic doctor, and I’ll be praying for a good outcome for you. Your family is good to come to the hospital for Thanksgiving. Don’t let everyone wear you out.

  5. Binky Says:

    Doctors can be very wrong, so I wouldn’t take what the first doctor said as the absolute truth. I don’t know why they couldn’t do another bypass. I hope you’ve got another opinion on that.

    Do what you can, Bo. We are all pulling for you, and hope you can improve enough to go home soon.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Thanks Binky. I have actually had several opinions on the bypass situation. My heart has so much damage there just isn’t anything to bypass to. Actually I tell everyone that my heart is in good condition… It is just my blood pump that is worn out.

      • Binky Says:

        Your heart heart is in great condition, we know that. You have a lot of people thinking wishing praying for you, so I hope all that positive energy reaches you. Stay strong!

      • Bo Lumpkin Says:

        My heart has always been strong…it is my blood pump that is weak. 🙂 It is all good and I am very positive. Thanks.

  6. bearmancartoons Says:

    Please keep us posted if there is anything we can do for you or your family. You are in our prayers

  7. Eric W. Johnson Says:

    Hang in there buddy, sounds like a tough row to hoe. Prayers for you.

  8. stbeals Says:

    I’m going with the optimistic doctor. Thanks for the update, Bo. You’re a tough cookie (they probably want you to stay away from cookies, though).

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Actually they haven’t fussed too much about what I eat. So far I haven’t had too much of an appetite. The people here at St. Dominic Hospital are great but honestly THE FOOD STINKS. My son has been bringin’ me real food but I really haven’t had much of an appetite. I have lost 18 pounds since Saturday night but mostly that is because of the high doses of lasix (fluid medicine) I am takin’.

      I have seen those ads about how to lose weight without diet and exercise and I think I might have hit on something. I would do an infomercial but I don’t think it would ever get as popular as the “Bo Knocker”.

  9. J. S. Rowe (@eO_Jande) Says:

    Dear, dear Bo… Thank you for letting us share in what you’re going through now. Though I’m sad (for me, and for the loved ones you’ll be leaving behind someday –hopefully years and years from now!), I love the way you’re handling this. With such dignity. And not forgetting the friends you’ve made in cyberspace.

    Bless you, Bo! Good to know you’re at peace with your life regardless of the outcome. ❤

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I must confess that I did have about a two minute pity party for myself but I didn’t enjoy it so I decided to make the best of it and I just hope that I can encourage someone else as I deal with this.

  10. Malveka Says:

    Hey Bo, I’ve been thinkin’ we sure would miss your delightful sense of humor, insight and kindness if you were gone. Please stick around! You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  11. Susan Hanks Says:

    Praying still. Thanks for the update.

  12. ron scarbro Says:

    Linda and I have you in our prayers. You and I know who is really in charge and we both know you are in very good hands. Keep us updated as you are able.

    Ron & Linda

  13. Deb Says:

    Please get well soon!…I know you can do it!
    If there is anything I can do for you, let me know.
    You are in my prayers, Bo, and I know God adores you!
    Love and hugs xo

  14. w101njf Says:

    Thanks for the update, Bo! Stay well and get better!

  15. Diane M Says:

    Oh dear … have spent MORE time on Twitter &/or Facebook lately. Brian & I ***will*** pray 4 ***U*** & VERY soon too!!! Hugs(z) 4 now w/OUR love: ((((((BL)))))) Date: Wed, 21 Nov 2012 03:22:09 +0000 To: iqdiane132@hotmail.com

  16. Joy Says:

    I just say my question mark….that should be an exclaimation point…LOL!!! How are you?

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I don’t feel quite as good today as yesterday but they have given me so much lasix that now I am a little dehydrated. I am going to be here a couple more days I think.

  17. Darryl Says:

    Happy T-day. Wish you the best recovery possible and great memories with friends and family for the holidays.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Thanks Darryl. We had a great family time here in the hospital. The family brought the food and love and we enjoyed it.

      I have a feeling I will go to sleep early tonight though.
      🙂

  18. Mark Toner (@tonertweets) Says:

    All the best, Bo. Rooting for you here in SW Scotland.

  19. journeymans Says:

    Whatever you do don’t use any meds you have been using prior to this attack. Reverting to normal meds is proven to be a killer as the new condition requires new meds and new doses. Discovered in Philadelphia I believe quite some time back following high death rates post op, but doctors, especially in the bigger hospitals, will forget the important little details.
    Excellent blog post. The Friggin’Loon sent me over.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Thanks for the heads up and thanks for stoppin’ by. They have been changin’ and redoin’ all my meds this week. Good advice though.

      • journeymans Says:

        Just remembered that in the Philly case, the discovery by the research team revealed that the spouse; who as the meds dispenser in the home, had not been included in information circle so was not told of the need to dump the old meds. In every case studied, it was the spouse that inadvertently killed the patient through bad information management by the hospital. Discovery channel I think.

  20. spilledinkguy Says:

    I feel awful that I didn’t make it here a bit sooner to lend you a bit more support, Bo.
    Although it’s very nice to see you’ve had so many well-wishers already… which comes as no surprise, considering how kind and supportive you are of everyone!
    Please hang-in there, my friend… you are in our prayers…

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      No problem Robert. I have been thinkin’ that it was pretty inconsiderate of me to have a heart attack right before a holiday week. :) Folks are busy and there is football, Turkey, and shopppiiiing. Never doubt for a minute that I know your friendship is real.

      ________________________________

  21. Tony McGurk Says:

    Hope you’re feeling a bit better Bo. Lets stick with the optomistic Doc’s opinion. I like the sound of his opinions better. Stay strong my friend. Keeping you in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

