Trollin’ For Treasures…????

Most weekends my wife and I go trollin’ for treasures.  That’s what we call goin’ to yard sales, rummage sales, garage sales and flea markets.  You would be surprised at some of the things we find and some of the cheap prices we pay for them.  (We are going to have to have one of our own soon because we are runnin’ out of room to put stuff.)

We did real well at the first one.  I picked up two antique chairs for $5 each.  Something quiet unexpected happened at the second one.

We were greeted by a whole herd of wiener dogs.  The lady said that one of them had been dropped off as a puppy a few months back and she was lookin’ for a good home for it.  I said to my wife, “Come on honey let’s go.”

It’s not that I don’t like dogs…actually I like them too much and I’m still in mournin’ for my last dog, Sesay who was also a wiener dog.  He died two years ago this month.  Even though I am still in mournin’ for him I have in a way enjoyed the freedom of not havin’ a dog to own me..

“Can we take him home?” my wife begs with that you can’t possibly say no to this look in her eyes.

“Absolutely not,” I exclaim adamantly.

As we drove away I tried to make sure that she absolutely understood how I felt.  “Okay, it’s your dog and you are going to be the one to take care of it.”

She replied, “I know that.  He won’t be  bit of trouble for you.  Now stop at Wal-mart and get some shampoo so that you can give him a bath when we get home.”

His name is Rocky.  He is clean.  He doesn’t like us much yet because he misses the herd.  He did take a nap with me on the couch but he refused to eat anything until I went back to Walmart and got him some special food.

I am sure there will be times I will miss my freedom but I am easily trained and will probably be perfectly satisfied to belong to Rocky for the rest of my life.  He is a puppy and my health ain’t the best in the world so at least I might not have to go through the process of losin’ him.

Bo

 

20 Responses to “Trollin’ For Treasures…????”

  1. bearmancartoons Says:

    Sadly I had to be the one to put my sister in laws dog down today since she had to deal with a very sick child. I am sure Rocky Wiener Lumpkin will be you years of happiness

  2. Jill Says:

    You’re a good man Bo!!!!!

  3. steve Says:

    Aren’t you a little old for puppy love?

  4. ltpen315,barb Says:

    Aw!! I knew you were gonna’ give in!! Congrats on your new baby!! Picture?

  5. Binky Says:

    I’m sure little Rocky will soon be king around there!

  6. Bo Lumpkin Says:

    He’s takin’ over fast.

  7. Deb Says:

    Hang in there, Bo. It won’t be much longer, and you be completely trained.

  8. spilledinkguy Says:

    If it weren’t for the fact I live in a ‘no pet’ apartment I’m sure we’d have a wiener dog by now, too. Every time my wife sees one she develops an instant ear to ear grin.

  9. Tony McGurk Says:

    Great Post Bo

    Quote: As we drove away I tried to make sure that she absolutely understood how I felt.

    That bit really cracked me up Bo. Glad your wife knows her place.
    We once had a Rottweiller named Rocky. After our last Poodle Misty died we were dogless for 6 months before we got Dixie. Dogless just don’t feel right. I’m sure you will enjoy your new owner Bo

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Glad you caught the humor in it. We had a half Rotweiler and Half Alaskan Samoi once. Weighed 115 pounds and was the biggest baby you ever saw. This one weighs 8.5 pounds.
      He is laying beside me as I answer thse comments.

  10. George Says:

    I had a dog named Rocky. I loved him so much. He was my first long-term doggy relationship. We spent most of my childhood years together. I really miss him now.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I’m kinda figurin’ that since Rocky is less than a year old and the way my health is that I won’t have to say good bye to him. He will be around to keep my wife company after I am gone.

Leave a Reply

