Perfect Age

 

 

I reckon we all like to brag on our grand younguns  and I reckon that is all right.  My grandson is kinda unusual for a boy who turns 12 next month.  He enjoys TV, and Video games but only if he can’t go outside.  He would rather be outside workin’ than stuck inside playin’ video games or watchin’ movies.  He helps out his kinfolks, and his neighbors and earns much of his own spendin’ money.

There have been times I would be lookin’ at somethin’ in a store and he would say , “If you want that, I’ll buy it for you Papaw.”   Now I might be wrong but I just ain’t thinkin’ that is what most younguns his age would do.  He likes sports well enough but doesn’t want to play organized sports because  it cuts into his family time,  his fishin’ and huntin’ time and sometimes when there is a game there just might be somethin’ he would rather be doin’.  He said he wouldn’t be playin’ in high school anyway because he was goin’ to be workin’.

I have had a lot of friends in my time but I reckon he’s the best buddy I have ever had.  I know that some day he will grow up  and Papaw won’t be his best bud anymore but I plan to stick by him as long as he’ll have me.

 

If y’all didn’t know it I also posted some new pictures on my blog at www.bolumpkin.wordpress.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 Responses to “Perfect Age”

  1. bearmancartoons Says:

    What about a riding mower. Or a tractor that is street legal?

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      He does ride 4 wheelers, dirt bikes, golf carts and ridin’ mowers. My son-in-law works on small engines (for his hobby and sideline) and they always have somethin’ to ride at their house.

  2. spilledinkguy Says:

    I kinda’ miss being that age, Bo…
    well, I think I do…
    hard to remember (it’s been awhile, you know)!
    🙂

  3. Binky Says:

    That’s really nice, Bo. All you can do is enjoy it while it lasts, and I’m sure you will.

  4. Jande Says:

    I’m in love with your grandson. I’m sure you are too. Kids like that are like rare diamonds that grow on trees, which of course, they don’t and that’s what makes them rare. His parents and especially grandparents must be pretty rare and awesome too!

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I guess everyone thinks their grandkids are special. I hope so anyway because if they don’t they are missin’ one of life’s greatest blessin’s. I’m lookin’ forward to this afternoon already because my daughter and grandson are coming to see us.

      ________________________________

  5. George Says:

    Hahaha! And a lawnmower is definitely worth filling with gas. 🙂

  6. jbstoons Says:

    Aw they grow up so fast.

  7. Tony McGurk Says:

    As long as he don’t crash the mower

Leave a Reply

