Quality Time

Sometimes when kids hear their parents say things it gives them a completely distorted picture of what they really mean.  I hope to do a few more comics on the misconceptions children have of some of our sayings.

I am open to ideas.  Do any of you have any old sayings that you really don’t understand and would like for me to illustrate from a childs point of view?  Well… it was worth a try.

23 Responses to “Quality Time”

  1. Tony Says:

    I wonder what Winston’s Dad dids to get the Doghouse exile??? I am lucky that Dixie’s doghouse is too small for me to fit into.

  2. Tweets that mention Quality Time « Gatorhead -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Michael J. Phelps and Bo Lumpkin, Bo Lumpkin. Bo Lumpkin said: Quality Time: http://t.co/rdOkdhv Who's in the doghoiuse? […]

  3. Bearman Says:

    Up the creek without a paddle
    You have a hollow leg (meaning you can eat anything and not gain weight)

  4. Stephen Says:

    I love old sayings. I’d have to think of a few that are very difficult, if not impossible to explain to children. Recently, we were trying to explain “waste not, want not” to 10 year old Catherine. I think “a stitch in time saves nine” takes time to explain to a lot of adults!

  5. Jande Says:

    He is really sweet, and I love the fancy doghouse! (MY house should look so good.) lol

    In for a penny;in for a pound (that’s english money –or used to be)
    May as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb.
    Adding Fuel to the Fire
    give it the acid test
    Piece of cake – easy
    Under the weather
    Keep your chin up
    Butterflies in your stomach
    All thumbs
    Slip of the tongue
    Slap on the wrist
    Break down
    Spill the beans
    At your wit’s end

    there’s a few more for ya, Bo

  6. MJ Says:

    HA! Glad to see you back on a roll again.

  7. Binky Says:

    I did a cartoon like this recently. The trick is to make sure your dog house is the nicest one on the block.

    “Don’t let the bedbugs bite” is an oldie that is becoming quite relevant these days.

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I don’t even want to draw bedbugs. Thinkin’ about them gives me the creeps.

      • Colleen Dick Says:

        I always thought “Don’t let the bedbugs bite” was quite clear when I was a kid And I was very thankful that we didn’t have any. The complete little sing-song was:

        Don’t let the bedbugs bite
        If they do, grab a shoe
        Beat them till they’re black and blue

        And now they are making a comeback. My son changed his accommodation in Palermo after reading on Trip Advisor that the lodging they had booked was infested. So I think the internet is the best weapon against them. And I am so grateful he didn’t bring a case infested with bedbugs back to MY house!

      • Bo Lumpkin Says:

        I am stayin’ home and sleepin’ in my own bed until all these bedbugs are wiped out. I didn’t even know the thought of them bothered me that bad until y’all started talkin’ about ’em.

  8. jb Says:

    Here are a few I know. “if you keep making that face it s going to stay like that.” or ” Don’t step on the crack or you will fall and break your mama’s back.” OR ” I’ll knock you into the middle of next week”

  9. Tassi Hendricks Says:

    When Timothy was little and someone would say,”in the meantime” he thought it was after dark when all the mean stuff happened. =)

  10. SpilledInkGuy Says:

    When I’m supposed to get dressed up I often say you can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear (that one might be interesting, Bo)! 🙂

  11. georgeford Says:

    I’m sure dad will appreciate the company. 🙂

Leave a Reply

