Look At Me

Hi y’all, I’m Bo Lumpkin and I’ve been thinkin’.  I reckon doin’ a blog or a web comic is kinda like the kid who is playin’ but he wants his parents to watch him play.  Every once in a while he will holler, “Hey, look at me!”.  Bloggin’ is fun… if you know someone is readin’.  Comics are fun if you know someone is readin’ them and you are entertainin’ someone.

 A lot of people have said that they don’t check their trackin’ software as much as they did at first because it can be discouragin’. I can relate to that even though I have had a slow but steady climb (with a few spikes and a lot of dips) in my viewers.

 What I do check is the comments.  I love the feedback and the interaction with other people.  I try to respond to the comments when I can but not havin’ a full time internet connection makes that hard to do.  The same is true of the comments  I leave on other sites.  My cell phone will connect to the internet but It doesn’t allow me to do much from it.

 I’ve been thinkin’ lately about how to promote my comics and my writin’ off the web and I have come up with some things that I am in the process of tryin’.  I am printin’ out a flyer with samples of my comics I do and the website on there and I give them to people I meet and hope they will give the comics a look and check them out.  I figure at least 3 out of every 4 people think I am a nut but maybe that 4th one will become a fan.

 I reckon’ I am a lot like that kid playin’ outside.  It is a lot more fun if someone is watchin’.  That’s what I’ve been thinkin’.  Whatchall been thinkin’?  Leave me a comment or write me an email to bo@bolumpkin.com or bolumpkin@gmail.com.

10 Responses to “Look At Me”

  1. Tony Says:

    Yep I agree Bo, It’s nice to know someone is taking notice of what we post.

  2. sh Says:

    everyone wants to see what the nuts are doing.

  3. jb Says:

    Yeah man it makes a biiiiiggggg difference when you know that your hard work is being seen. I love the comments I get too. Keep up the good work Bo.

  4. Bearman Says:

    For the first year and a half I told no one I knew that I was doing a cartooon blog. Finally this year I told my friends and family. Guess what…not a one ever comments on my blog. haha

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      I can’t say that. Some of my relatives comment pretty regular. Others have never taken the time to check out the site. If I ever get rich and famous guess which ones I’m goin’ to remember.

  5. spilledinkguy Says:

    I was glued to my stats – although they were pretty much always depressing!

    And count me in as one of your fans, Bo – I love your cartoons! 🙂

    • Bo Lumpkin Says:

      Thanks Robert. I really don’t think you know what an encouragement that you, Bearman and George have all been to me. If it weren’t for y’all at times I think I might have quit.

Leave a Reply

