HOBBYHOLICS

Hi y’all, I’m Bo Lumpkin and I’ve been thinkin’.

I reckon we can all get caught up in our hobbies until they become a drivin’ force in our lives.

 I started bloggin’ and picked up a few readers by commenting on their sites.  I had three or four fans and that created a desire in me to expand and do better.

 I decided I would illustrate some of the blogs and that led to drawin’ comics.  I kind of got sidetracked from the writin’ because I seemed to get more interest from the comics.

 It wasn’t long until I began to comment on other people’s comics too and some of them began to respond to my comments.  Soon I was enjoyin’ commentin’ as much as I was writin’ and drawin’ my own comics.  I reckon it is a good thing I don’t have an internet connection at home or I never would get no writin or drawin done.
 
 The comics kinda consumed all the vast empty space in my head and now I am beginnin’ to think in comic strips.  That can be awkward at social gatherin’s.   Experimentin’ with new styles and new characters while tryin’ to learn to draw has been an interestin’ experience.  I usually have a whole lot more ideas than I am able to put into ink, either in drawin’ or writin’.

 Back to the drivin’ force that seems to consume some people and their hobbies. Someone once said (It was either Kurt and Burt or the Ladies, I think) that there is a very thin line between a hobby and a mental illness.  When you start quotin’ your own characters you might have crossed the line.

 I’m Bo Lumpkin and I’ve been thinkin’.  Folks that ain’t got no hobbies must be awful bored, as well as being awful borin’.  Whatchall been thinkin’?  Leave me a comment or write me an email to bo@bolumpkin.com or bolumpkin@gmail.com

4 Responses to “HOBBYHOLICS”

  1. Bearman Says:

    Or their life is so busy they can’t be bored. Maybe sad…but not bored.

  2. Bo Lumpkin Says:

    Maybe tired too… but never bored.

  3. Tony Says:

    We all need something to take our minds of the stress of a busy day.

Leave a Reply

